The Book Challenge

  • read/listened: 22/369.
  • now reading: In handen van de Taliban by Joanie de Rijke
  • now listening: Twenty Thousand Leagues under the Sea by Jules Verne

I stopped reading Huckleberry Finn. I couldn’t get trough the english in dialect. It was too hard for me. All I was doing was translating words and because of that the story got lost.

I did finish listening to Sense and sensibility by Jane Austen and I’ve read Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. It was nice to have a vacation to a sunny beach and have lots of time to read. I see a similarity in those 2 books. Both are before world war 2 and both are in the rich upperclass with lots of strange communication rules. Strange to me, a woman who grow up in a society men and women are equal and I’m working class, I suppose it was normal then.

Both stories gave me a hard time to finish. I know many people love these books, but I think they are boring and they annoyed me. Those girls in Sense and sensibility need jobs and do something useful with their lives. They are desperate for a man. I can understand heartache, but she is overreacting. Anna Karenina is a dramaqueen. The story confused me because it continued after her death and she wasn’t mentioned any more. Also it wasn’t clear to me how she changed the life of all other people in the story.

I take a short break from the list. I’ll keep reading and listening books, there are so many more to enjoy! The book I’m reading is about a journalist that is kidnapped by Taliban and the book I’m listening is an old adventure/fantasy book that has been on my wishlist for a long time.

 

 

Geef een reactie

